Let Your Warrior Out

That’s what a friend recently told me to do. How did he know I had a warrior in me? (We all do).

He was right, of course, and that’s exactly what I’m about to do.

Three hours from now I’ll be queued up at the starting line to run 3.34 miles and attack about 13 obstacles on the Warrior Dash New Mexico course. The number 13 represents transformation, doesn’t it? This could be positively transformative! Why would I spend a Saturday morning doing this? Well, why would I not, really?

First, it’s a good goal.

Second, it’s physical.

Third, it’s a good step outside my comfort zone, although I would argue in line with my inner badass.

Fourth, it’s a great cause. I’ve raised $2,345 for the little warriors at St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital. (Thanks to all of you who made that happen.)

Fifth, it gives me a chance to meet other people who want to let their warrior out.

Sixth, you get a wicked kind of warrior hat and t-shirt for it. The kind of shirt you’d want to wear and the kind of hat you’d never. Well, maybe just today.

Seventh, it brings me to the famous Balloon Fiesta Park in Albuquerque, New Mexico. Granted, it’s not October, and there is not a single hot air balloon there right now, but I would put money on the festival atmosphere being in full ascendance!

Eighth, it’s April 27th, and I have never spent an April 27th quite this way. So it’s a first.

Ninth, who doesn’t wish they had a reason to go get dirty in a muddy obstacle course?

Tenth, life is short. Get outside. Breathe the fresh air. Live a little!

Here I go. How will you let your warrior out today?

About Stephanie Himango

Welcome to Another Door Opens. I'm a freelance writer and television producer who loves stories, photography, people, fitness and design. In Another Door Opens, find short stories about your fellow man that will inspire and inform. Please add your email to Follow and receive a notice with each new post. Welcome. http://anotherdooropens.net -Stephanie
This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Let Your Warrior Out

  1. johnm7ii says:

    Thanks for leading by example, Stephanie

    I’m going to try and follow it!

Leave a Reply

