Playground No More

As I drove along the winding mountain road between Cloudcroft and Ruidoso, New Mexico, I was struck by the stark emptiness of this abandoned playground on a rural patch of land. The yellow field was lifeless — rocking horses and empty swings stopped in time. As I walked through the tall grass, I could hear only the howl of the wind in the pines, and the long chains of the swing set that clashed together like a fallen wind chime.

DSC_3164

DSC_3152

About Stephanie Himango

Welcome to Another Door Opens. I'm a freelance writer and television producer who loves stories, photography, people, fitness and design. In Another Door Opens, find short stories about your fellow man that will inspire and inform. Please add your email to Follow and receive a notice with each new post. Welcome. http://anotherdooropens.net -Stephanie
This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Playground No More

  1. noelle says:

    Stephanie
    As a person who spends a great deal of time in playgrounds these days, those pictures are so incredibly melancholy. It makes you wonder how many thrills and imagined adventures those horses and that swing gave children, and how the now-much-older versions of those children would feel seeing them now.

    They are in the process of building a new grade school on the playground of my old one in Oklahoma. I saw it last week. When it’s completed, all of my classrooms will be demolished (I started first grade in 1962.)

    I guess that’s progress, but very sad.

    • Thank you for your comment. Like you, I have watched my school yards fade away. The sight of this field was stark and moving — an overgrown collection of ‘toys’ from the past – some broken swings, a rotting teeter-totter, a graffiti-painted metal slide and those lost rocking horses.

  2. Very nice. It’s as though the photos are telling stories of the past. 🙂

Leave a Reply

