A Blue Moon and Personal Transformation

Image

Spring has arrived on a more visceral level for me this year because I am experiencing a personal change of seasons.

Last year, quite literally on a blue moon, I left my network news producer job of many years. I did not make the decision lightly. There was a lot to love about the job. The broadcast news world is intoxicating. It’s relevant, exciting, ever-changing. It’s demanding and serious, yet when appropriate was infused with a lot of humor and quick-witted banter. It introduced me to a caliber of people, many of whom are friends, who I’ll admire and respect always.

But I had a strong curiosity about life outside the full-time news cycle. I also knew I didn’t want to be a person who reached the end of her days on the planet only to say “I wish I had.”

I have read accounts about people for whom disease or illness was the trip-wire that finally spurred change. For them, crisis was an understandable and necessary catalyst, because resistance to change (in all of us) is a mighty force. The known has a comfort in it; the unknown does not. I didn’t want to wait for a crisis to make a change. I wanted to exercise my courage from a position of health.  So after a lot of serious thought and soul-searching, I decided to exercise the courage I knew I had, and I stepped out on faith.

Several calendar pages have been turned since that blue moon, and my geographic locator has blipped across maps near and far. I have spent more time with family. I have traveled to new places and revisited old ones.  I have taken more hikes in nature and read more books. I have appreciated more and stressed less. Twenty years of severe migraine headaches have all but disappeared, and my Blackberry-turned-iPhone addiction is fading, although ever so slowly.

Now spring is here. It’s time for more new beginnings.

 After a deep sleep in fresh air, one awakes restored and full of unjustifiable hope — ready for inexpressible undertakings. –Mabel Dodge Luhan

About Stephanie Himango

Welcome to Another Door Opens. I'm a freelance writer and television producer who loves stories, photography, people, fitness and design. In Another Door Opens, find short stories about your fellow man that will inspire and inform. Please add your email to Follow and receive a notice with each new post. Welcome. http://anotherdooropens.net -Stephanie
This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Blue Moon and Personal Transformation

  1. phil rogers says:

    I cannot begin to tell you how much I admire what you are doing. You are now experiencing first hand the stories the rest of us only wish we could do. God bless you, and Candace and I will be following every post!

Leave a Reply

